• Home
  • Blog
  • 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists: Part 3

2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists: Part 3

By Evan Chronis

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced its 15 modern-era finalists for the Class of 2019.

A list of 102 nominees has been reduced to this selection of players and coaches who have defined the sport, and we're looking at each finalist before the ultimate decision on the Class of 2019 is announced during 2019 Super Bowl weekend in Atlanta. 

To be elected into the Hall of Fame, a modern-era finalist must get a minimum positive vote of 80 percent when selection committee voting takes place.

Remember to check out Part 1 and Part 2 of our series. 

Here is the third and final part of our look at the finalists for the Class of 2019.

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Finalists

Ty Law

Ty Law

Cornerback for New England Patriots (1995-2004), New York Jets (2005), Kansas City Chiefs (2006-07), New York Jets (2008) and Denver Broncos (2009)

The New England Patriots dynasty of the early 2000's wouldn't have been possible without Ty Law, a catalyst in Bill Belichick's secondary. 

Taken with the 23rd overall pick in the 1995 NFL Draft, Law quickly rose as one of the most important players in the Patriots' defense. He was selected to his first of five Pro Bowls in 1998, the same year that he was named First-Team All-Pro for the first time.

But Law's greatest achievement was as a member of "version 1.0" of the Patriots dynasty that formed under the Belichick and Tom Brady era. Law was a part of the 2001, 2003 and 2004 Super Bowl-winning Patriots teams that cemented their place in history.

Law and the Patriots parted ways in 2005, but the defensive back still is beloved within the New England community — he was inducted into the Patriots Hall of Fame in 2014. 

Following his decade-long stint with the Patriots, Law joined the New York Jets for the 2005-06 season. Under head coach Eric Mangini, Law put together the most profilic season of his career, leading the league with 10 interceptions. 

This is Law's second time as a finalist for the Hall of Fame. He made the final ballot for the Class of 2018. 

John Lynch

John Lynch

Safety for Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1993-2003) and Denver Broncos (2004-07)

Most of this year's finalists were a known commodity when coming into the league. That wasn't the case for John Lynch. 

Drafted in the third round of the 1993 NFL Draft by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Lynch spent his first couple of years in the league as a special teams player and backup in Tampa Bay's secondary. 

He became a full-time starter in 1996 when Tony Dungy was named the franchise's head coach. Under Dungy, Lynch's game evolved and transformed him into the player that he is regarded as today. 

Lynch earned the only Super Bowl ring of his career when the Buccaneers defeated the Oakland Raiders, 48-21, in the 2002 Super Bowl. 

In a run most notably stamped by stints with the Buccaneers and Denver Broncos, Lynch finished his career with 1,054 tackles, 26 interceptions and was selected to nine Pro Bowls and named First-Team All-Pro three times. He has also been inducted in both the Buccaneers Ring of Honor and the Broncos Ring of Fame. 

Currently, Lynch is the general manager of the San Francisco 49ers. 

This is the sixth time Lynch has been named a finalist for the Hall of Fame. 

Kevin Mawae

Kevin Mawae

Center for Seattle Seahawks (1994-97), New York Jets (1998-2005) and Tennessee Titans (2006-09)

Mawae was drafted by the Seattle Seahawks in 1994 and spent his first two years playing as a right guard. He converted to center before the 1996 season, which is when his career started began to blossom. 

In 1998, Mawae signed with the New York Jets and made an immediate impact, helping the team win the AFC East title and clinch a berth in the AFC Championship game in his first year. In New York, Mawae was made famous as the main blocker in front of Hall of Famer Curtis Martin. Mawae was the center for seven of Martin's ten 1,000-plus yard rushing seasons. 

Mawae joined the Tennessee Titans in 2006, and helped front an offensive line that was tied for the NFL lead with only 12 sacks allowed throughout the season. 

The 6-foot-4 lineman finishes his career as an eight-time Pro Bowler, and was named First-Team All-Pro seven times. He is a member of the NFL 2000's All-Decade Team and the New York Jets Ring of Honor. 

Ed Reed

Ed Reed

Safety for Baltimore Ravens (2002-12), Houston Texans (2013) and New York Jets (2013)

After Ray Lewis was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2018, Ed Reed was the next name on the minds of Baltimore Ravens fans as they reminiscence about the defensive duo that defined the 2000's. 

Drafted in the first round of the 2002 NFL Draft, Reed burst onto the scene by showing his ability and redefining what a modern safety could play like. While maintaining the physical aspects that made the turn-of-the-century Ravens so popular, Reed also proved himself to be one of the best ball-hawking safeties in modern NFL history. 

Reed was selected to the Pro Bowl nine times and was named First-Team All-Pro five times. In 2004, he was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year after a corralling a career-high nine interceptions. 

In total, Reed's 64 career interceptions rank seventh all-time in league history. He is also the NFL leader in interception return yards with 1,590. 

This is Reed's first year of eligibility for the Hall of Fame. 

Richard Seymour 

Richard Seymour

Defensive End for New England Patriots (2001-08) and Oakland Raiders (2009-12)

Few defensive lineman collected the accolades, and jewelry, that Richard Seymour did over the course of his career.

Seymour was a key cog in the Patriots' defensive unit that led them to three Super Bowl championships within four years. As a member of the Patriots, Seymour accumulated 39 sacks and six interceptions over eight seasons in New England. 

After being traded to the Oakland Raiders prior to the 2009 season, Seymour spent the final four years of his career with the Silver and Black. In 2011, he signed a two-year, $30 million contract that made him the highest paid defensive player in the NFL at the time. 

Seymour finished his career with seven Pro Bowl nods, three First-Team All-Pro selections and was named a member of the New England Patriots 50th Anniversary Team and the NFL 2000's All-Decade Team.

Get Your Official Ticket Package for Enshrinement Week 2019

With an Official Ticket Package from Pro Football Hall of Fame Experiences, you can go behind-the-scenes at the biggest ceremony and celebration of the year. Choose between a four-, three-day or single day package to get the ultimate football experience. 

View Enshrinement Week Packages

Subscribe to Email Updates

Recent Posts