• Home
  • Blog
  • 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists: Part 2

2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists: Part 2

By Evan Chronis

Hall of Fame Finalists

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced its 15 modern-era finalists for the Class of 2019.

A group that started at 102 nominees has been cut down to this elite selection of players and coaches, and we're looking at each finalist before the final decision on the Class of 2019 is announced during 2019 Super Bowl weekend in Atlanta. 

To be elected into the Hall of Fame, a modern-era finalist must get a minimum positive vote of 80 percent when selection committee voting takes place.

Last week, we looked at the first five finalist announced in Part 1 of our series. 

Here is Part 2 of our look at the finalists for the Class of 2019.

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Finalists

Alan Faneca

Alan Faneca

Guard for Pittsburgh Steelers (1998-2007), New York Jets (2008-09) and Arizona Cardinals (2010)

It's difficult for an offensive lineman to become a household name, but Alan Faneca spent over a decade in the NFL building a reputation that even the casual football fan couldn't ignore. 

After being drafted with the 26th overall pick in the 1998 NFL Draft, Faneca spent 10 seasons with the Pittsburgh Steelers and was a main cog in the Steelers' 2006 Super Bowl victory. Faneca was selected to nine Pro Bowls (eight with Pittsburgh, one with the Jets), was named First-Team All-Pro six times and is a member of the Pittsburgh Steelers All-Time Team and the NFL 2000's All-Decade Team. 

This is Faneca's fourth time as a finalist — he made the list in 2016, 2017 and 2018. 

Tom Flores

Tom Flores

Head Coach of the Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders (1979-87) and Seattle Seahawks (1992-94)

It's rare for an individual to be one of the most important players and coaches in a franchise's history, but that's just what Tom Flores was. 

Flores was the first quarterback in Raider's history, taking the inaugural snap of the franchise on September 11, 1960. He stayed behind center for the Raiders until 1966 when he was traded to the Buffalo Bills. In 1969, Flores was a member of the Chiefs' Super Bowl-winning team as a backup quarterback. 

After his playing career ended, Flores joined the Raiders staff as an assistant as worked his was up to succeed John Madden as the Black and Silver's head coach before the 1979 season. As head coach, Flores led the Raiders victories in the 1981 Super Bowl and the 1984 Super Bowl. The win in 1981 made Flores the first Latino and minority to win a Super Bowl as a head coach. 

Flores is down in the history books as the first person to win a Super Bowl as a player, assistant coach and head coach. 

This is Flores' first time as a finalist. 

Tony Gonzalez


Tight End for Kansas City Chiefs (1997-2008) and Atlanta Falcons (2009-13)

We may never see a tight end quite like Tony Gonzalez ever again. A perfect mix of skill, athleticism and longevity, Gonzalez made a statement in the game with records that don't look to be broken any time soon. 

The 6-foot-5 Gonzalez is the all-time leader in receiving yards for a tight end with 15,127. Gonzalez was selected to 14 Pro Bowls, was named First-Team All-Pro six times and is a member of the NFL 2000's All-Decade Team. He finished his career as the Chiefs all-time leader for receiving yards by a tight end, but has since been surpassed by Travis Kelce. 

But the most impressive stat of Gonzalez's career is that he currently ranks second all-time in NFL history in receptions with 1,325 grabs. While he never won a Super Bowl during his almost-two decade long career, Gonzalez will go down as the man who revolutionized and modernized the tight end position. 

This is Gonzalez's first time as a finalist and his first time eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. 

Steve Hutchinson

Steve Hutchinson

Guard for Seattle Seahawks (2001-05), Minnesota Vikings (2006-11) and Tennessee Titans (2012)

Steve Hutchinson was drafted with the 17th overall pick in the 2001 NFL Draft by the Seattle Seahawks. The 6-foot-5 guard spent five seasons in Seattle, being named to three Pro Bowls and First-Team All-Pro three times. 

In the 2006 offseason, Hutchinson signed the biggest contract ever (at the time) for an offensive lineman with the Minnesota Vikings — $49 million over seven years. As a member of the Vikings, Hutchinson went to four more Pro Bowls and was named First-Team All-Pro an additional three times. 

Hutchinson was named a finalist in 2018, his first year of eligibility. 

Edgerrin James

Edgerrin James

Running Back for Indianapolis Colts (1999-2005), Arizona Cardinals (2006-08) and Seattle Seahawks (2009)

In the early- and mid-2000's, few running backs cast fear into their opponents like Edgerrin James. Known for his physicality and elusiveness in one package, James is one of the most decorated rushers of the past two decades. 
Taken with the fourth pick of the 1999 NFL Draft by the Indianapolis Colts, James quickly put his name on the map by being named the 1999 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. 

In his career that spanned stints with the Colts, Arizona Cardinals and Seattle Seahawks, James was named to four Pro Bowls and was named First-Team All-Pro twice. He also led the NFL in rushing yards in 1999 and 2000. 

This is James' third time as a finalist in four years. He was also named to the list in 2016 and 2018.

Get an Official Ticket Package for Enshrinement Week 2019

Join us in Canton to see the Class of 2019 be enshrined! With an Official Ticket Package from Pro Football Hall of Fame Experiences, you can go behind-the-scenes at the biggest ceremony and celebration of the year. Choose between a four-, three-day or single day package to get the ultimate football experience. 

View Enshrinement Week Packages

Subscribe to Email Updates

Recent Posts